You are here: HomeAwardsBenjamin H. Stevens Graduate Fellowship

The Benjamin H. Stevens Graduate Fellowship




Graduate students enrolled in Ph.D. programs in North America are encouraged to apply for the Seventeenth Benjamin H. Stevens Graduate Fellowship in Regional Science, administered by the North American Regional Science Council of the Regional Science Association International (NARSC-RSAI). This Fellowship, in support of thesis research in Regional Science, is awarded annually in memory of Dr. Benjamin H. Stevens, an intellectual leader whose selfless devotion to graduate students as teacher, advisor, mentor, and friend had a profound impact on the field. Regional Science is a multidisciplinary field concerned with the theory and method of urban and regional phenomena. Regional Scientists apply theoretical and empirical frameworks and methods of the social and other sciences, as well as develop new ones specifically for regional analysis and policy.

Eligible students should have completed all degree requirements except for their dissertation by the time the Fellowship commences. A requirement of the Fellowship is that the recipient has no duties other than dissertation research during the Fellowship, although the recipient may hold other fellowships concurrently. Applications from students working in any area or any Ph.D. program are welcome as long as their dissertation research addresses a research question in Regional Science.

The Fellowship consists of a stipend in the amount of $30,000 (U.S.), paid over a twelve-month period. Applications for the 2017-2018 Fellowship should be sent electronically by the applicant to the Selection Committee Chair, Professor Elena Irwin at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., and received by February 15, 2017. An application consists of the following materials:

1. A curriculum vita of no more than two (2) pages in length.

2. A statement in ten (10) pages or less explaining the questions and issues to be addressed, the approach to be used, and the product expected from the thesis research, preceded by a summary (1-page maximum) describing the intellectual merit of the proposed research, and the broader impacts that may result. The 10-page limit is inclusive of references, but exclusive of tables and figures. This text should be in 12 point or larger font, double-spaced, with one-inch margins; references may be single-spaced.

3. Copies of the candidate’s transcripts for all graduate study. Unofficial copies are acceptable.

In addition, the thesis supervisor shall provide a confidential letter sent separately as an attachment from her/his email account with the student’s name in the subject line to Professor Elena Irwin. In the letter the supervisor should assess the quality and significance of the proposed dissertation research, specify the current state of progress toward the candidate’s degree and provide a commitment by the thesis supervisor to obtain a tuition waiver for the candidate for the year of the Fellowship. A condition of the Fellowship is the granting of a tuition waiver for the year of the Fellowship by the university, or equivalent payment of the student’s tuition.

Applications should be emailed to Professor Elena Irwin at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. Questions may also be sent to her at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. For information about NARSC, go to For information about RSAI, go to

July 15, 2016


The Benjamin H. Stevens Graduate Fellowship in Regional Science was previously awarded to the following students:

 2000 Michael J. Greenwald (University of California, Irvine; Marlon Boarnet, advisor)

2001 Rachel Franklin (University of Arizona; Brigitte Waldorf, advisor)

2002 JungWon Son (University of California-Los Angeles; Leobardo Estrada, advisor)

2003 Alison Davis Reum (North Carolina State University; V. Kerry Smith, advisor)

2004 Nicholas Nagle (Univ. of California-Santa Barbara; Stuart H. Sweeney, advisor)

2005 Xiaokun Wang (University of Texas at Austin; Kara Kockelman, advisor)

2006 Joshua Drucker (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; H. Goldstein and E. Feser, advisors)

2007 Alvin Murphy (Duke University; Patrick Bayer, advisor)

2008 Paavo Monkkonen (University of California, Berkeley; David E. Dowall, advisor)

2009 Elizabeth Mack (Indiana University; Tony H. Grubesic, advisor)

2010 Adam Storeygard (Brown University; J. Vernon Henderson, advisor)

2011 Peter Richards (Michigan State University; Robert Walker, advisor)

2012 Ran Wei (Arizona State University; Alan Murray, advisor)

2013  Zhenhua Chen (George Mason University; Kingsley Haynes, advisor)

2014 No Fellowship Awarded

2015 Ahmadreza Faghih Imani ( McGill University; Naveen Eluru, advisor)

2016  Nick Tsivanidis (University of Chicago; Chang-Tai Hsieh, advisor)


The Stevens Fellowship Committee administrates the Stevens Fellowship Fund on behalf of the North American Regional Science Council; its members are: Ronald Miller, Chair; David Boyce, Secretary; Michael Lahr, Treasurer; Janet Kohlhase; and Neil Reid, Executive Director of NARSC. Fundraising in support of the Stevens Fellowship began in 1998, and is ongoing. In recent years, donations were received in memory of two former colleagues of Benjamin Stevens at the University of Pennsylvania, Thomas Reiner (1931-2007) and Walter Isard (1919-2010). Donations may be sent to: The Stevens Fellowship Fund, First Financial Bank, 1205 S. Neil Street, Champaign, IL 61820 USA. Checks should be drawn to The Stevens Fellowship Fund. Donations may be made online at If the donor desires, a donation made in memory of an individual will be acknowledged on this web page.

RSAI Programs 2017

Building bridges 2017

Building bridges in regional science 2017 conference participation support   The RSAI will facilitate the participation of researchers from low-income and lower-middle-income economies (as defined ...

Nurturing new talent 2017

Nurturing new talent 2017   The RSAI aims to continue promoting the development of Regional Science by nurturing new talent in 2017. The council has therefore pledged resources to co-finance worksho...

Thinking big 2017

Thinking big 2017 seed funding for young researchers   Young researchers are often disadvantaged when trying to develop innovative and/or unconventional research projects because of a lack of adequ...

Regional Science Main Schools

Photo Gallery

Hit Counter

This week2239
This month14713


The Regional Science Association International (RSAI), founded in 1954, is an international community of scholars interested in the regional impacts of national or global processes of economic and social change.

Connect with us


Contact Us

  • RSAI - Regional Science Association International
  • Address: University of Azores, Oficce 155-156, Rua Capitão João D'Ávila, 9700-042 Angra do Heroísmo, Azores, Portugal
  • Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 
  • Website: